Infographic Style Cookies for Movember’s Cancer Awareness Fundraising.

So, if you have been wondering about my previous post and why I chose to feature that in a culinary blog, I m ready to explain!

GESG_effected

You see, in reality I have been working on designing cookies for Movember.

Movember is an initiative (http://nl.movember.com/ ) that helps raise awareness for cancer in men using a strong visual sign of “manhood”..that of a moustache. (Yes.. we are talking about moustaches here ladies!)

So, being a girl myself..and not really knowing anyone with a moustache I had a whole lot of research to do…

There are many, many types of moustaches out there. Some elegant and some barbaric, some very fine and others quite bushy.. I have been checking infographic representations of moustaches for a week now trying to decide upon a form that i would like to use for Movember.
Late last night, I concluded on these following shapes which I lasercut and used to create my moustache cookies!

The dough is made with organic ingredients and flavored with deep vanilla scent and the sugar glaze is fine and delicate with a coffee aroma.

If you would like to say hi, taste some cookies, get a nice moustache trim and support Movember,
feel free to drop by the Movember shop, located in Magna Plaza Shopping Center in Amsterdam.
I will be there every Sunday noon with fresh cookies and surprises for adults, children and..pets!

MOVEMBERCOOKIES

SF_effected

4 comments
  1. I could have shaved my beard and leave only a moustache just for your research. I look funny with a moustache though… funny as in, haha, funny not as in weird funny.

    • yes! do it:) Sounds super cool! And if you like grooming advice, come by magna plaza! there is gonna be an old chair and a barber..a really good classic one! You d look good with a moutache !

  2. Joshua said:

    Do you have the recipe for these cookies? We’re having a bake sale here on Sunday for Movember and these look amazing! :D

    • Hi Joshua! These are sugar cookies coated with icing sugar :)
      Here is the recipe I use:
      2 cups of SOFT butter
      2 cups sugar
      3 eggs
      2 tsp. vanilla
      1 tsp. almond extract

      Mix dry ingredients separated from wet ingredients and add together. Knead in a ball and chill in the fridge for a night.
      Then cut the dough in pieces, roll out and cut! (I custom made my cutters but you can use regular round and draw the moustaches with icing sugar. If you need custom cutters, drop me a mail and I ll make them for you)hehe
      Bake in the oven for about 5-6 min on 375o C. They have to have a golden color but not be burnt.
      When you take them out, let them cool first. Otherwise they risk of breaking. They may be soft but as soon as they are cold they will be hard.
      If you wish to insert sticks, you can do before placing in oven or you could attach them with icing sugar once the cookies are baked.

      Have fun and let me know how they tasted:)
      1 tsp. orange extract
      6 1/2 cups flour
      1 tsp. baking soda
      1/4 tsp. salt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

